Judges confirmed for Plastic Free Awards 2019

August 12, 2019

The judges have been confirmed for the UK’s first Plastic Free Awards, which will take place in November 2019. A special ceremony, hosted by marine conservation charity Surfers Against Sewage (SAS) in partnership with the Iceland Foods Charitable Foundation, will celebrate the thousands of campaigners backing the fight against plastic pollution.

Award-winning TV presenter Ben Fogle and multi-Gold medal Olympian Helen Glover are alongside Iceland MD Richard Walker on the nine-person judging panel. The ten awards categories span various areas of plastic-free living and leadership.

This year’s judges include:

Ben Fogle – Award-winning broadcaster and adventurer

Gillian Burke – BBC wildlife presenter and biologist

Helen Glover – Multi-Gold medal Olympian for GB Rowing Team

Hugo Tagholm – CEO of SAS

Liz Bonnin – Presenter of BBC’s Bafta-Award winning Blue Planet Live

Lucy Siegle – British journalist and writer

Dr Paula Owen – Environmental campaigner and eco-innovator

Richard Walker – Managing Director of Iceland Foods

Sian Sutherland – Co-founder of campaign group A Plastic Planet

Read more about the awards here.